Tuesday, April 22, 2014

2014 AGM Awards Handed Out

The Isaacs and Karen Peck & New River Named Big Winners

Nashville, Tennessee - (April 17, 2014) - The 2014 Absolutely Gospel Music (AGM) Awards were handed out this week at a special concert celebration in Smyrna, Tennessee. The Isaacs were the night’s big winners.

The Isaacs took home five awards during the program. The group was awarded their second consecutive Mixed Group of the Year title and first ever Best Live Performer. Ben Isaacs took home Producer of the Year (Artist) while songwriting sibling Becky & Sonya Isaacs won Songwriter of the Year (Artist). Becky Isaacs Bowman was also recognized as Musician of the Year for the first time in her career.

Perennial favorites Karen Peck & New River took home an outstanding three awards as well. The group won their third consecutive Song of the Year title (for the #1 hit “Revival”). The group also won the coveted Album of the Year ovation (for Revival) as well as Progressive Song of the Year (also for “Revival”).

Songwriter Kenna West was the most awarded individual of the night, winning Song of the Year and Progressive Song of the Year (for co-writing “Revival” with Karen Peck Gooch and Don Poythress) and Country Song of the Year (for co-writing “Voice In the Desert” with Lee Black and Jason Cox).

Additional artists and individuals who won multiple awards throughout the evening included the Bowling Family, Sisters, Don Poythress, Wayne Haun, Dianne Wilkinson, Karen Peck Gooch, and Jeff Easter.

One of the biggest awards of the evening – 2014 Pacesetter Award – was handed to the Write About Jesus Conference – a songwriting retreat hosted by celebrated songwriter Sue C. Smith.

The staff of AbsolutelyGospel.com and the Unthank family was proud to award the Susan Unthank Memorial Award to Kathy Crabb Hannah. This award honors women who have worked in this field of music and made a resounding impact on Southern Gospel music. In addition to the Susan Unthank Memorial Award, Kathy was awarded the 2005 Pacesetter Award for her work as manager of the Crabb Family.

The event was hosted by Karen Peck Gooch (of Karen Peck & New River) and Kelly Nelon Clark (of The Nelons). The evening featured show-shopping performances from the Isaacs, Karen Peck & New River, Tribute Quartet, The Nelons, Jeff & Sheri Easter, the Sneed Family, the Browders, the Bowling Family, Adam Crabb, Beyond the Ashes, Jim & Melissa Brady, the Freemans, and songwriters Kenna West, Sue C. Smith and Jason Cox. The evening concluded with a special multi-artist musical tribute to the Easter Brothers which was hosted by Jeff Easter and featured special guests Dailey & Vincent.

“We are just ecstatic with this year’s program,” mentioned Deon Unthank of AbsolutelyGospel.com. “Though we had to fight through some technical issues with sound and our live feed at the beginning of the show, we still had a record setting number of viewers online and in attendance at the live show. We already are making big plans for next year’s Celebration!”

The Absolutely Gospel Music Awards are an annual award handed out each year by the staff at AbsolutelyGospel.com. Each January, the staff and select media representative decide upon the nominees in over twenty categories. In February of that year, the readers of the site are then allowed to vote for their favorites in 12 categories. This is the thirteenth year the awards have been in existence.

For more information, visit www.absolutelygospel.com

2014 Absolutely Gospel Music Award Winners

Song of the Year: "Revival" - Karen Peck and New River (written by Karen Peck Gooch, Don Poythress, and Kenna West)

Album of the Year: Revival - Karen Peck & New River (produced by Wayne Haun)

Pacesetter: Write About Jesus Conference

Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Sneed Family

Male Vocalist of the Year: Mike Bowling (Bowling Family)

Female Vocalist of the Year: Amber Nelon Thompson (The Nelons)

Male Group of the Year: Booth Brothers

Female Group of the Year: Sisters

Mixed Group of the Year: The Isaacs

Songwriter of the Year (Artist): Becky & Sonya Isaacs (The Isaacs)

Songwriter of the Year (Professional): Dianne Wilkinson

Producer of the Year (Artist): Ben Isaacs (The Isaacs)

Producer of the Year (Professional): Michael Sykes

Engineer of the Year: Kevin Ward

Musician of the Year: Becky Isaacs Bowman (The Isaacs)

Traditional Song of the Year: "Good News From Jerusalem" - Tribute Quartet (written by Jerry Salley & Dianne Wilkinson)

Traditional Album of the Year: The Greatest Story - Triumphant Quartet (produced by Wayne Haun & Jeff Stice)

Progressive Song of the Year: "Revival” - Karen Peck & New River (written by Karen Peck Gooch, Don Poythress, and Kenna West)

Progressive Album of the Year: Classics Collection - Sisters (produced by Tim Parton)

Country Song of the Year: "Voice In the Desert” - The Freemans (written by Lee Black, Jason Cox, and Kenna West)

Country Album of the Year: Safe...After the Storm - Bowling Family (produced by Mike Bowling and Troy Peach)

Special Event Project of the Year: Like Father, Like Son - James & Jeff Easter (produced by James Easter, Jeff Easter, and Tim Surrett)

Best Live Performer: The Isaacs

Fan Favorite Artist of the Year: Jeff & Sheri Easter

Susan Unthank Memorial Award: Kathy Crabb Hannah

No comments:

Post a Comment