Monday, April 15, 2013

Absolutely Gospel Music Announces 2013 (AGM) Awards Winners

Nashville, TN (April 12, 2013) The 2013 Absolutely Gospel Music (AGM) Awards were handed out last night at a special concert celebration in Smyrna, Tennessee. The Booth Brothers and Sisters were the night’s big winners.

The Booth Brothers took home four awards during the program. The group was awarded their sixth Male Group of the Year title and seventh Best Live Performer award in addition to winning Special Event Project of the Year for Jubilee 3 (along with Greater Vision and Legacy Five). Group vocalist and songwriter Jim Brady, who was also one of the co-hosts during the evening, was awarded his second Songwriter of the Year (Artist) title.

Critically acclaimed vocal ensemble and siblings Sisters were awarded four Ovations during the evening. Sisters was named Female Group of the Year for a third consecutive year. The group was also awarded Progressive Album of the Year for their stellar An A Cappella Collection. In addition, vocalist Kim Lord was handed the Female Vocalist of the Year title and received a rousing standing ovation after her name was called.

Karen Peck had a good year as well. She, along with her group New River, were awarded their second consecutive Song of the Year award for the #1 smash hit “Mighty Big God,” making it Karen’s stirring solo album How You Walk the Miles was the surprise winner in the Album of the Year category as well.

Additional artists who won multiple awards included Brian Free & Assurance (Progressive Song of the Year for "I Want to Be That Man" and Male Vocalist of the Year for Bill Shivers), The Isaacs (Mixed Group of the Year and Country Song of the Year for "Waiting In the Water"), and Michael English (Producer of the Year Artist and Fan Favorite Artist of the Year).

One of the biggest awards of the evening – 2013 Pacesetter Award – was handed Godsey & Associates – a forward-thinking and cutting edge media company.

The staff of and the Unthank family was proud to award the Susan Unthank Memorial Award to Donna King. This award honors women who have worked in this field of music and made a resounding impact on Southern Gospel music. In addition to the Susan Unthank Memorial Award, Donna took home the Producer of the Year (Professional) title making history as the very first woman to be awarded Producer of the Year.

The event was hosted by Darrell & Chris Freeman (of The Freemans) and Jim & Melissa Brady. The evening featured show-shopping performances from the Booth Brothers, Michael English, The Isaacs, Karen Peck & New River, Brian Free & Assurance, Sisters with Lari Goss, the Bowling Family, Soul’d Out Quartet, Tribute Quartet, The Browders, Beyond the Ashes, The Williamsons, and the aforementioned Jim & Melissa Brady and The Freemans. The awards program also featured a special appearance by Libbi Perry Stuffle.

“This year featured some of the most impactful performances we’ve ever seen,” mentioned Deon Unthank, President of “There were so many standing ovations that it was hard to keep track. The evening was spirit filled and featured so many anointed performances. We could not have been happier with how the event went.”

The Absolutely Gospel Music Awards are an annual award handed out each year by the staff at Each January, the staff decides upon the nominees in over twenty categories. In February of that year, the readers of the site are then allowed to vote for their favorites in 12 categories. This is the twelth year the awards have been in existence.

2013 Absolutely Gospel Music Award Winners

Song of the Year: "Mighty Big God" - Karen Peck and New River (written by Jimmy Yeary & Sonya Isaacs Yeary)

Album of the Year: How You Walk the Miles - Karen Peck (produced by Ben Isaacs)

Pacesetter: Godsey & Associates

Breakthrough Artist of the Year: The Browders

Male Vocalist of the Year: Bill Shivers (Brian Free & Assurance)

Female Vocalist of the Year: Kim Lord (Sisters)

Male Group of the Year: Booth Brothers

Female Group of the Year: Sisters

Mixed Group of the Year: The Isaacs

Songwriter of the Year (Artist): Jim Brady (Booth Brothers)

Songwriter of the Year (Professional): Sue C. Smith

Producer of the Year (Artist): Michael English (Gaither Vocal Band)

Producer of the Year (Professional): Donna King

Engineer of the Year: Troy Peach (Bowling Family)

Musician of the Year: Gordon Mote

Traditional Song of the Year: "Homecoming Day" - Tribute Quartet (written by Melissa Brady)

Traditional Album of the Year: Through the Night - The Perrys (written by Wayne Haun)

Progressive Song of the Year: "I Want To Be That Man" - Brian Free & Assurance (written by Lee Black & Ricky Free)

Progressive Album of the Year: An A Cappella Collection - Sisters (produced by Tim Parton)

Country Song of the Year: "Waiting In the Water" - The Isaacs (written by Becky Isaacs Bowman, Jimmy Yeary & Sonya Isaacs Yeary)

Country Album of the Year: Eyes Wide Open - Jeff & Sheri Easter (produced by Jeff Easter, Madison Easter & Sheri Easter)

Special Event Project of the Year: Jubilee 3 - Booth Brothers, Greater Vision & Legacy Five (produced by Gerald Wolfe)

Best Live Performer: Booth Brothers

Fan Favorite Artist of the Year: Michael English

About has grown from relative obscurity to the industry's leading internet publication for Southern Gospel news and information in only a few short years. The site includes a wide variety of features, consisting of artist interviews, a weekly chart, late-breaking news, and much more.

No comments:

Post a Comment