Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Dolly Parton will receive prestigious James D. Vaughan Award

The Southern Gospel Music Association (SGMA) will award its 2010 James D. Vaughan "Impact Award" to Dolly Parton, according to Executive Director Charlie Waller. Waller said that the award is presented to those whose careers make a significant impact on the Southern gospel music industry and expand the scope of the music.

“Dolly Parton is the most honored female country performer of all time," he said. "Her efforts on behalf of our music at Dollywood have been instrumental in the establishment of our museum and hall of fame as well as providing a home for many of our artists to share their talents on the stages at Dollywood in front of millions of people."

He added that the Country Music Hall of Fame member has encouraged tremendous opportunities for the exposure of Southern gospel music on television, recordings, and in live performance venues throughout her career.

Parton plans to appear in person to accept the honor on Sept. 29, 2010 at the SGMA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Singing News Fan Awards. The event is at DP's Celebrity Theatre inside Dollywood in Pigeon Forge, Tenn.

Past recipients of the award include: Bill Gaither, James Blackwood, Les Beasley, Bob Brumley, Mosie Lister, Paul Heil, Eva Mae LeFevre, J.G. Whitfield, Lari Goss and Barbara Mandrell.

Tickets are $70, which includes admission to Dollywood, free parking, lunch, and reserved seating for the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony/Singing News Fan Awards. Dollywood will be open and all shows, rides and shops will be operating.

DP’s Celebrity Theatre will host the annual celebration of inductees to the Hall of Fame at 3 p.m. honoring, “Little” Jan Buckner-Goff, Danny Gaither, Sam Goodman, Bill Hefner, Connie Hopper and Arthur Smith. Performers scheduled to appear are Booth Brothers, Brian Free & Assurance, Greater Vision, Inspirations, Karen Peck & New River, Kingdom Heirs, Legacy Five, Perrys, Triumphant Quartet, and the Whisnants.

Groups performing in venues throughout the park during the day include: Kingdom Heirs, Florida Boys, Booth Brothers, Triumphant Quartet, Dove Brothers Quartet, Chuck Wagon Gang, Diplomats, Southern Sound Quartet, Tribute Quartet and the LeFevre Quartet. SGMA Hall of Fame members planning to attend include Bill and Gloria Gaither, Les Beasley, Jerry Goff, Jack Pittman, Bill Shaw, Eddie Wallace, Charlie Waller, Don Light, Lou Hildreth, Derrell Stewart, "Lady" Mull and Ed Hill. Other guests include Guy Penrod, Jason Crabb, Ronnie Hinson, Gerald Crabb and "Little" Willie Wynn.

Dinner includes baked chicken, pulled barbecue pork sandwiches, all beef hot dogs with chili, cole slaw, corn on the cob, baked beans, roasted skillet potatoes, banana pudding, unlimited Coca-Cola products or Gold Peak tea.

“I encourage each of you to be in attendance for this historical event in gospel music,” Waller said. “Come visit us in the Great Smoky Mountains and be at Dollywood on Sept. 29th.”

Tickets must be purchased in advance by calling the SGMA office (865) 908-4040 to attend SGMA Induction Ceremony/Singing News Fan Awards in the DP’s Celebrity Theatre.

Proceeds from the event benefit the Southern Gospel Music Association. The Southern Gospel Music Association is a non-profit organization that maintains the Southern Gospel Museum and Hall of Fame, the only facility honoring this genre of music, for the historic preservation of the accomplishments of the music and its people. Museum hours match those of Dollywood. Donations are tax-deductible. Individuals and businesses may donate to assist with honoring inductees with special bronze plaques that are displayed in the Hall of Fame. For more information about the museum or its inductees, visit

This release is provided as a public service of Randall Franks Media through the Share America Foundation, Inc. for the SGMA.

No comments:

Post a Comment